Teach Access Awards $50,000 in Grants to Faculty Across the United States

Grants support the inclusion of accessibility-infused curricula

Teach Access Faculty Grants Program Logo

In celebration of the 12th annual Global Accessibility Awareness Day (GAAD), Teach Access announced the 2023 faculty grant recipients. Open to full-time, part-time, adjunct faculty, or instructional staff at US-based institutions of higher education. These grants are designed to assist faculty as they embark on incorporating and developing new curricula to teach about accessibility and purchasing assistive technology or equipment for their classrooms. All grants are made possible through corporate support.

Dr. Elissa Weeden, a past faculty grant recipient, and Associate Professor at the Rochester Institute of Technology, said, "The Teach Access Faculty grant allowed me to purchase various assistive technology devices such as switches, an eye tracker, adaptive controllers, and a Braille notetaker to use in my courses. Before the grant, I was only able to talk and show videos about how these devices can be used. Now, my students are able to explore and interact with the devices to experience how they can be used to provide access and interaction with digital content."

19 recipients were awarded a grant supporting the creation of modules, presentations, exercises, or curriculum enhancements centered around the fundamental concepts and skills of accessible design and development. The recipients include Katherine Aquino & Ceceilia Parnther, St. John's University; Nicole Brown, Western Washington University; Karen Caldwell, SUNY Potsdam; Pamela Cutter, Kalamazoo College; Tanya Darlington, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University; Renata Endres, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign; Linqiang Ge, Columbus State University; Renuka Kumar, Community College of Baltimore County; Kevin Lin, University of Washington; Laurie Lunker, San Diego Mesa College; Luke Mashburn, Georgia Highlands College; Zapoura Newton-Calvert, Portland State University; Scott Ortolano, Florida SouthWestern State College; Diana Ruggiero, University of Memphis; JooYoung Seo, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign; Jeremy Shafer, Temple University; Tim Urness, Drake University; Reba Wissner, Columbus State University.

To expand the impact of the awards, recipients will add their new materials to the Teach Access Curriculum Repository, which will be freely available to anyone interested in utilizing curricula to teach accessibility. 

Our next Call for Proposals will take place in Spring 2024. For more information, visit Teach Access.


About Teach Access: Teach Access is a non-profit 501(c)(3) organization collaborating with education, industry, and disability advocacy organizations to address the critical need to enhance students' understanding of digital accessibility as they learn to design, develop, and build new technologies with the needs of people with disabilities in mind. Teach Access envisions a fully accessible future in which students enter the workforce with knowledge of the needs of people with disabilities and skills in the principles of accessible design and development, such that technology products and services are born accessible.

Source: Teach Access


Tags: accessibility, education, grants

About Teach Access

View Website

Bringing together industry, education, and disability advocacy organizations, Teach Access addresses the digital accessibility skills gap by equipping learners to build toward an inclusive world.

Teach Access
PO Box 266
Eaton Rapids, MI 48827
United States